New Faculty in DPMMS
The department is pleased to welcome Professors John Aston and Mark Gross. Professor Aston's research interests are in applied statistics. He is known for his work modelling and analysing neuroimaging and linguistic data, as well as methodological contributions in functional data analysis and time series. Professor Gross works in the areas of algebraic and symplectic geometry. He is known for his work with Bernd Seibert on mirror symmetry and the SYZ conjecture.

Laure Dumaz wins Chancellerie Prize
Dr. Laure Dumaz has been awarded the Prix de la Chancellerie of the universities of Paris. This recognises the best PhD thesis in all fields of mathematics over the greater Paris area. Her thesis work, in probability theory, was on fine properties of self-repelling random motion and random matrices. Currently she is a research associate in Cambridge, working in the programme "New Frontiers in Random Geometry."

Frank Kelly wins INFORMS Expository Writing Award
Frank Kelly, professor of the mathematics of systems, has received the 2013 Saul Glass Expository Writing Award, honouring an operations researcher/management scientist whose publications demonstrate a consistently high standard of expository writing. The citation distinguishes his book Reversibility and Stochastic Networks, and the 1998 paper "Rate Control for Communication Networks: Shadow Prices, Proportional Fairness and Stability" (co-authored with A.K. Maulloo and D.K.H. Tan) — and concludes, "[Professor Kelly's] work exemplifies the art of technical writing, and has been extremely influential in both theory and applications."

Senior academic promotions
Congratulations to Clement Mouhot and Richard Samworth, who have been promoted to the rank of Professor. Professor Mouhot's research interests include partial differential equations and kinetic theory, while Professor Samworth works in the fields of nonparametric and high-dimensional statistics.

Four Faculty Members to Speak at ICM
Congratulations to Professors Mihalis Dafermos, Geoffrey Grimmett, Mark Gross, and Vlad Markovic, who have been invited to speak at the International Congress of Mathematicians. The ICM will be held September 2014 in Seoul, South Korea.

DPMMS Welcomes New Faculty Members
The department is pleased to welcome Professor Mark Gross, Professor Vladimir Markovic, and Dr. Oscar Randal-Williams.
Professor Gross works in the areas of algebraic and symplectic geometry. He is known for his work with Bernd Seibert on mirror symmetry and the SYZ conjecture. Professor Gross will be arriving in Cambridge in January 2014.
Professor Markovic, who will hold the Sadleirian Professorship, works in the fields of hyperbolic geometry and Teichmuller theory. He is known for his work with Jeremy Kahn, in which they resolved both the Ehrenpreis Conjecture and the Surface Subgroup Conjecture.
Dr. Randal-Williams, who was previously a Herchel Smith Fellow, works in the fields of algebraic and geometric topology. He is known for his work with Soren Galatius on the topology of high-dimensional manifolds.

Ivan Smith wins 2013 Adams prize
Ivan Smith, Professor of Geometry, has been awarded the 2013 Adams Prize, for `several beautiful and important results in symplectic topology'. The Adams prize is one of the oldest and most prestigious prizes of the University of Cambridge, awarded jointly each year by the Faculty of Mathematics and St John's College to a young (normally under 40 years of age), UK-based researcher doing first class international research in the Mathematical Sciences. More details here.

Frank Kelly receives New Year's honour
Frank Kelly, professor of the mathematics of systems, has been awarded a CBE in the New Year's honours list for services to mathematical sciences. Frank chairs the Council for the Mathematical Sciences, is the current master of Christ's College, and previously served as chief scientific adviser to the Department of Transport.

Tim Gowers knighted
As part of the Queen's birthday honours list 2012, it was announced that Tim Gowers had been knighted for "services to mathematics". Tim Gowers's research spans several areas of mathematics, including combinatorics and functional analysis, for which he received numerous honours including the Fields medal in 1998. He also maintains a highly popular blog, and has been a forceful advocate for Open Access in scientific publishing.

Senior promotions announced
It was announced that Nathanaël Berestycki and Richard Nickl have been promoted to Reader, and Ivan Smith to Professor. Nathanaël Berestycki's research interests are in probability theory and its connections to analysis and geometry. Richard Nickl works on statistical theory and functional analysis. Ivan Smith works at the interface between symplectic topology and algebraic geometry.

Richard Samworth awarded £1.2M EPSRC fellowship
The grant is to cover research on high-dimensional statistical interference, which has recently emerged as one of the fundamental challenges in modern mathematical statistics and applications. More details here.

Frank Kelly (DPMMS) and John Hinch (DAMTP) elected to the US National Academy of Engineering.
One of the highest distinctions in the field of engineering, this election honours the recipients' "contributions to the theory and optimization of communications networks" in the first case, and the "contributions to the mechanics of fluids, suspensions, and polymeric liquids and to industrial processes" in the second. More details here and here.

Richard Samworth receives the Guy medal in bronze from the Royal Statistical Society
The award is with respect to his work on theoretical, methodological, and computational aspects of non-parametric statistics. The award is one of the society's most prestigious honours and is typically given to individuals under 35. More details here.

Past news

Events and Special Lectures